Winners and highly commended 2016

Congratulations to all our 2016 award winners and highly commended and a huge thank you to everybody that entered the awards.

For further details about each of the winning and high commended initiatives please see our commemorative booklet.

Outstanding benefit to society through research


Professor Claire Alexander—School of Social Sciences

History Lessons/History Matters: creating a diverse history curriculum

Highly Commended

Professor Michael Dixon—Faculty of Life Sciences and Professor Jill Clayton-Smith—Faculty of Medical and Human Sciences

Genetic discovery and counselling for cleft lip/palate

Professor D Gareth Evans, Faculty of Medical and Human Sciences

Breakthrough therapy that improves survival and quality of life for patients with rapidly growing tumours

Highly Commended (emerging impact)

Tariq Aslam—MHS Faculty of Medical and Human Sciences

Respiratory aid for Infants (Rafi-tone) - Using sound analysis and gamification to transform compliance with spacer devices

Outstanding teaching innovation in social responsibility


Dr Holly Shiels—Faculty of Life Sciences and Dr Rachel Webster—Manchester Museum

Learning Through Objects

Highly Commended

Dr Christine Furber—School of Nursing Midwifery and Social Work

Delivering inspirational midwifery: understanding communities and cultures

Dr Elaine Lockton, Dr Jenna Ashton, Dr Catherine Adams and Jacqueline Gaile—School of Psychological Sciences

Telling Tales: speech, language, science and creativity

Outstanding contribution to social enterprise


Dr Nicola Banks—School of Environment, Education and Development

Motorbike taxi savings and employment scheme

Highly Commended

Dr Jenna Ashton—School of Arts Languages and Cultures

DWAN – Digital Women's Archive North

Dr Gill Green—Institute of Population Health

STORM® CIC: Enhancing Skills, Saving Lives

Inspiring Communities: public


Indira Mclean and Marianne Rushton—Bolton College

Teaching infection awareness via English lessons for non-native English speakers

Highly Commended

Alisa Donnelly

Public Contributor for Patient and Public Involvement and Engagement (PPIE)

The University of Manchester Legal Advice Centre—School of Law

Pro bono lawyers supporting the University's Legal Advice Centre

Inspiring Communities: staff


The CPR World Record Attempt Team:

Patricia Conaghan (SNMSW), Christopher Cutts (Pharmacy), Lucy Hallam (Students' Union), Sara Harris (NWAS), Janet Makin (University First Aid), Millie Loxton & Emma Richardson (Volunteering Team), Ellen Stephenson (Sports Volunteering), Katy Lenney & Ella Berrington (NursSoc)

World Record Attempt: most people in a CPR relay

Highly Commended

The Prometh3us Programme Team—Alliance Manchester Business School

The Prometh3us Programme: Executive leadership for the third sector

Emma Carter-Brown, Jonathan Lillie, Vesna Higginbotham, Ruth Rawling, Julie Rafferty, Philippa Stirk, Elaine Jones, Emily Hough, Emma Moores—School of Environment, Education and Development

Read with SEED

Inspiring Communities: student


Ilyas Nagdee, student—School of Arts, Languages and Cultures

Ramaden Tent Project

Highly Commended

Sarah Haughey, student—School of Social Science

M32 Group Breakfast Club

Outstanding public engagement initiative: staff


Collaboration between Faculty of Life Sciences and Manchester Museum

Dr. Lidija McKnight, Dr. Campbell Price, Dr. Stephanie Atherton-Woolham, Anna Bunney and Victoria Grant

Gifts for the Gods: Animal mummies revealed

Highly Commended

Dr Stephanie Snow, Professor Stuart Allan, Professor Pippa Tyrrell—Faculty of Life Sciences

Stoke: stories of self

Professor Andreas Prokop—Faculty of Life Science

Improving school biology lessons by using the fruit fly Drosophila as a powerful, curriculum-relevant teaching tool

Outstanding public engagement initiative: students


Madagascar Medical Expedition Team:

James Penney, Hannah Russell, Anthony Howe, Cortland Linder, Stephen Spencer—Manchester Medical School

Expedition to Madagascar

Highly Commended

Benjamin Shaw, Charlie Walker and The Jodcast Team—School of Physics and Astronomy

The Jodcast

Undergraduate Speech and Language Therapy Society—School of Psychological Science

Giving Voice Campaign, Speech and Language Therapy Society

Outstanding public engagement initiative: cultural institutions


Ed Watts—The Whitworth

Danger! Men at Work

Outstanding contribution to equality and diversity


Chad McGitchie—The Whitworth and Manchester Museum

Inclusion through recruitment

Highly Commended

Dr Hema Radhakrishnan—Faculty of Life Sciences

Equality and diversity drive in Faculty of Life Sciences

Yasmin Mannan—School of Arts, Languages and Cultures

The Refugee Conversation Club/Mancunion

Outstanding professional support services, library and cultural institutions’ support for social responsibility: cultural institutions


Wendy Gallagher—The Whitworth and Manchester Museum

Health and Culture Programme

Highly Commended

Julia Riley, Jamie Sloan, Naomi Smith, Alan Parlane, Hilary Kay, Christian Knight, Sofiya Mohamed, Jennifer Brooks, Ruth Grutzbauch—Jodrell Bank Discovery Centre

Jodrell Bank Discovery Centre – Education and Interpretation

Outstanding professional support services support for social responsibility


Michelle Kipling—Alliance Manchester Business School

Business in the Community (BiTC) Business Class Partnership with Whalley Range and Levenshulme High School Education and Leadership Trust

Highly Commended

Siobhan Cartwright—Manchester Medical School

Manchester Catholic Chaplaincy Foodbank and Ladybarn Community Centre

Colin Baines, Paul Jordan, Catherine Davies, Richard Cutting, Adrian Parker, Steve Olivier, Diane Masterson-Kerr—Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences

EPS Technical and Business Administration Apprenticeship Programmes

Outstanding contribution to environmental sustainability


Anna Gilchrist—School of Environment, Education and Development

The Tree Musketeers

Highly Commended

Henry McGhie, David Gelsthorpe, Rachel Webster, Dmitri Logunov and Alex Bird—Manchester Museum

North West Natural History Museums Partnerships'

Katie Thorp—Estates and Facilities

FoodinResidence - Reduction of Food Waste

Outstanding contribution to widening participation: staff


Careers Service Widening Participation Team

Widening particpation work

Highly Commended

Inspiring Futures Team

Charlotte Beswick: 'Inspiring Futures' schools event 2015

Dr Jonathan Davies, Teresa Smith, Francesca Barclay, Alan Jack, Dr Ray Richmond, Angela Summers, Caroline Sales, Dr Rebecca Craven , Dr Gareth Brock, Professor Iain Pretty—School of Dentistry

Dental simulation day at the School of Dentistry

Outstanding contribution to widening participation: student


Illyas Nagdee, student—School of Arts, Languages and Cultures

Sustained commitment to widening participation work is over a period of time.

Highly Commended

Omer Ali, student—Manchester Medical School

Widening participation activities

Special Award for sustained contribution to social responsibility

Manchester Leadership Programme Team—Student Development and Community Engagement Division, Directorate for the Student Experience

The Manchester Leadership Programme

Special Award for sustained contribution to social responsibility

Joanne Jacobs—Student Recruitment and International Development, Directorate for the Student Experience

Equity and Merit Scholarship Programme