Award winners and highly commended 2017

Congratulations to all our 2017 award winners and highly commended and a huge thank you to everybody that entered the awards.

Outstanding contribution to widening participation


The Creative Entrepreneurial Programme In Place of War

Ruth Daniel and Teresa Bean, School of Arts Languages and Culture

Highly commended

Computing At School

David Rydeheard & Sarah Zaman, School of Computer Science

Team members: Dave Ames; Carol Murray; Carl Simmons

Archaeology in the Classroom

Dr Melanie Giles, Senior Lecturer in Archaeology, Archaeology/SALC


Access All Areas

Memona Shahid, Pharmacy, School of Health Sciences

Highly commended

Women of Science

Rhys Archer, School of Materials, Faculty of Science and Engineering

Manchester Access Programme Medicine and Dentistry Simulation Day

Lead student ambassadors/organisers: Dalal Barahman, MBChB Medicine; Ismail Khalil DBS Dentistry; Muhammad Anss, MBChB Medicine; Umair Khan, MBChB Medicine

Outstanding contribution to social enterprise


The Science League

Hamza Arsbi, MSc International Development, Global Development Institute

Highly commended

Brighter World UK

Cheryl Latham, Alliance Manchester Business School

Levenshulme Market CIC

Helen Power, Alumni Officer

Team members: Paul Bower and Amanda Finch

Outstanding benefit to society through research


Early parent-mediated social intervention for autism

Prof Jonathan Green, Division of Neuroscience & Experimental Psychology

Team members: Dr Shruti Garg; Dr Kathy Leadbitter; Dr Catherine Aldred; Dr Carol Taylor

Highly commended

Reaching out with Psychological First Aid to children and parents affected by war

Dr Aala El-Khani

Team members: Professor Rachel Calam and Dr Kim Cartwright

Producing urban asylum—shaping policies for the housing of asylum seekers in Britain

Dr Jonathan Darling, School of Environment, Education and Development

Emerging impact

PhD: Reframing water efficiency: towards interventions that reconfigure the shared and collective aspects of everyday water use

Dr Claire Hoolohan, MACE, Tyndall Centre for Climate Change

Outstanding public engagement initiative

Staff—Joint winners

The Lived Experience of Climate Change: A Story of One Piece of Land in Dhaka

Dr Joanne Jordan, Lecturer in Climate Change and Development, Global Development Institute, School of Environment, Education and Development

Reaching out with Psychological First Aid to children and parents affected by war

Dr Aala El-Khani

Team members: Professor Rachel Calam and Dr Kim Cartwright

Highly commended


#Britain Breathing team: Sheena Cruickshank; Andy Brass; Jennie Evans; Lamiece Hassan; Hannah Hope; Caroline Jay; Jon Kudlick; Natasha Little; Indira McClean; Markel Vigo (Infection, Immunity & Respiratory Medicine, FBMH and School of Computer Sciences, FSE)

Everyday Austerity Exhibition

Dr. Sarah Marie Hall, Geography, School of Environment, Education and Development

Cloudy with a Chance of Pain at Manchester Day 2016

Professor Will Dixon, School of Biological Sciences

Team members: Louise Cook; Rebecca Barnard; Carolyn Gamble; Dr Jamie Sergeant; Dr John McBeth and David Schultz; Earth and Atmospheric Sciences


CATS (Cancer Awareness in Teenagers and young people Society)

James Adams, MRes Public Health, School of Medicine

Cultural institution—Winner

Circuit: Whitworth Young Contemporaries (WYC) Engagement programme and Warp Festival

Andrew Vaughan, Learning Manager and Sally Thelwell, Youth Engagement Assistant, The Whitworth

Highly commended

Bluedot Festival

Professor Teresa Anderson and Professor Tim O'Brien, Director of Jodrell Bank Discovery Centre & Associate Director of Jodrell Bank Observatory, Jodrell Bank Discovery Centre

Language Baby

Amy Jones, Early Years Programme Coordinator, The Whitworth and Helen Allwood, Centre Manager, LuCiD (ESRC International Centre for Language and Communicative Development)

Outstanding teaching innovation in social responsibility


Prefigurative architectures

Dr Leandro Minuchin, Architecture, School of Environment Education and Development

Highly commended

Teaching Measurement and Control to 400 Engineering Students using Mobile Robots and Quadcopters

Andy Weightman, School of Mechanical, Aerospace ACE

Team members: Eddie Whitehouse and Andrew Kennaugh

Criminology in Action

Dr Jo Deakin and Dr Claire Fox, Senior Lecturers, BA Criminology, Centre for Criminology and Criminal Justice, School of Law

Education Partnership in Africa

Joseph Mutule, Faculty of Science and Engineering

Outstanding contribution to equality and diversity


Voice and communication groups for trans individuals

Dr Sean Pert, School of Health Science

Highly commended

Creative methodology to explore the social problems of hearing loss in marginalised communities

Sheila Fidler, Senor Clinical Lecturer

Team members: Dr Jenna Ashton and Dr Tim Wilding

Students: Aftab.Mohy-ud-Din; Najmin Hoq; Rumannah Chothia

We Get It in Pharmacy: A Student Ambassador Project

Dr Sally Freeman and Professor Kaye Williams, Reader & Professor, Division of Pharmacy & Optometry


Manchester Open Mind Network

Sakib Moghal: BA Geography

Team members: Saqib Mahmood; Usman Khan; Hana Jafar; Nomaan Zubair; Irum Islam; Laura Grant; Maria-Louisa Pelidis, Matea Balabanovska

Inspiring communities

Community partner—Winner

Dr Peter and Mrs Julie Mohr, Volunteers, Museum of Medicine and Health

Highly commended

Ashley Dean, National Trust ranger

Dr Matthew Sullivan, Senior Lecturer, MMU

The Health eResearch Centre's Patient and Public Involvement (H@PPI) Forum, Division of Informatics, Imaging and Data Science, School of Health Sciences, FBMH.


The Dementia Law Clinic

Neil Allen, School of Law

Highly commended

Voluntary work with the homeless and youth work for over 30 years

Lenox Green, School of Mathematics

Initial Teacher Education: Over 150 years of producing inspiring teachers for local communities

Dr David Spendlove, Manchester Institute of Education, School of Environment, Education and Development

Team members: Dr Lisa Muragh; Liz Birchnall; Rebecca Phillips; Lousia Dawes; Dr Andrew Howes; plus Tutors and School Liaison in Initial Teacher Education


CAN/The Big Change

Chijioke Anosike (Cj): Development Studies and Politics, School of Social Science

Highly commended

Sexpression Manchester

Joanna Melville, Faculty of Biology, Medicine and Health

Team members: Caitlin Astbury; Daisy Manning; Phillip Cowman; Kate Uprichard; Sally Robinson, FMBH

Advocating for all

Simren Singh, School of Law

Promoting Cultural Engagement in Local and Global Community

Wenling Ding, School of Arts, Languages and Culture

Outstanding contribution to environmental sustainability


Future dentists—New emphasis on environmental sustainability and social responsibility

Dr Vitalia Kinakho, Lecturer, Division of Dentistry

Highly commended

Green Impact and Sustainability at The University of Manchester—a green Impact workshop for UoM flagship widening participation initiative—The Manchester Gateways Programme

Green Impact Team Rutherford Building: Louise Rowbotham; Roz Webster; Amy Barnett; Lisa Donnelly

Outstanding professional support services, library and cultural institutions' support for social responsibility

Joint winner

The Inflatable Museum

Jack Ridley, Inflatable Museum Coordinator

Team members: Menaka Munro and Steve Walsh

The Great Science Share 2016

Dr Lynne Bianchi, Director of SEERIH, The Science & Engineering Education Research and Innovation Hub, Faculty of Science & Engineering

Highly commended

Christmas Dinner Hospitality and Events Team
eTekkatho Digital Library

Yin Tun, Project Manager and Catherine Walton, Earth and Environmental Sciences

Special Award

The Sustainability Challenge

Student Development & Community Engagement Division