Shortlist 2020

We received over 180 entrants for our Making a Difference Awards 2020 and the judges had a very difficult job selecting a shortlist.

Below is a full list of all the shortlisted entrants in each of the categories. The winners and highly commended entrants will be announced at our Awards ceremony on 7 May 2020, in the University's Whitworth Hall.

Outstanding benefit to society through research

Manchester - Leaping Ahead: Andrew Gray, Manchester Museum

Improving outcomes for children with leukaemia internationally: the results of scientifically designed clinical trials and translational research: Vaska Saha, School of Medical Sciences

Energy from agricultural waste in Southeast Asia: Angela Mae Minas and Sarah Mander, School of Engineering

Malawian soil project: Helena Herrmann, School of Biological Sciences

Outstanding teaching innovation in social responsibility

The student-led massive open online course: parasitic worms: life stories: Kathryn Else, School of Biological Sciences.

Service learning in pharmacy: Mobilising undergraduate students to deliver health promotion education within high school settings: David Allison, School of Health Sciences

Bringing social responsibility into School of Biological Sciences undergraduate projects: Dr Karen Cosgrove, School of Medical Sciences

Outstanding contribution to social innovation and environmental impact

Want not Waste: Holly Smith (student), Students’ Union.

Electric Bazaar: Alicya Mamo, Shamima Khonat and Sarah Sharif (students), Global Development Institute.

Wellspring: Elliot McKernon (student), School of Natural Sciences

Outstanding public and community engagement initiative: Outstanding local engagement


Beyond Faith: Muslim women artists today: Saskia Warren & The Whitworth

MIB programme of public engagement with research & researchers: Nicholas Weise, FSE Research Institute

Community interventions to promote ‘ageing in place’: developing the ‘Village’ model in Manchester: Christopher Phillipson, School of Social Sciences

Coming in from the Cold: Jennifer Vickers, the Library


Once a Month: Bethany Veal and team, Students' Union

Manchester's First Language Community Project: Sophie Pathmanathan, School of Dentistry

Refugee and Asylum Seekers’ Conversation Club: Alice Lavery, Students' Union

Engaging with HIV policy and service delivery: a three-way approach: Jaime Iglesias, School of Social Sciences.

Outstanding national/international engagement

Participating with Panama: Andrew Gray and Amanda Bamford, Manchester Museum

NHS at 70: The story of our lives: Stephanie Snow, School of Medical Sciences.

CreateZim: Tarisiro Fundira and Nyasha Goredema (MACE).

Outstanding public contribution

International Arts and Homelessness Summit and Festival: Matt Peacock, Manchester Museum

Peterloo 2019: Karen Shannon, School of Arts, Languages and Cultures

Seven thousand feet: Christine Wilcox-Baker, NHS

Outstanding contribution by our cultural institutions

Queering the Whitworth: Dominic Bilton, The Whitworth

Jallianwala Bagh 1919: Punjab under Siege: Cat Lumb, Manchester Museum

Outstanding contribution to equality, diversity and inclusion

Unearthing the hidden voices: Intersectionalities in Higher Education Conference: Dr Hamied Haroon, School of Biological Sciences

Queering the Whitworth: Dominic Bilton, The Whitworth

International postdoc appreciation week: Ines Hahn, School of Biological Sciences

The Diversity and Inclusion Student Ambassador Programme: Lead by Catherine Prescott, Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Team and the Students' Union

Outstanding professional services for social responsibility

The Justice Hub (PS Team): Sue Gordan, School of Social Sciences

Building better futures: Delivering social responsibility outcomes through construction frameworks: Paul Maccabee, Estates and Facilities

Greater Manchester Engineering Challenge: Lynne Bianchi, School of Engineering

Outstanding contribution to environmental sustainability

Bluedot festival sustainability programme: Teresa Anderson, Jodrell Bank

Want not Waste: Holly Smith (Student), Students' Union.

Sustainability in undergraduate laboratory practical classes and beyond: Maggie Fostier and Ruth Grady, School of Biological Sciences

Food waste: Matheiu Augustin, PHD Student. MACE

Outstanding contribution to widening participation

Tactile collider: Robert Appleby, School of Natural Sciences

The Black Pharmacists Collective: Unekwuojo Agada, School of Health Sciences

Julia Riley: Julia Riley, Jodrell Bank

Manchester outreach medics: Matthew Maden, School of Medicine

Medics in primary schools: Sylvia Osahan, School of Medicine

Inside out: Working scientifically at the Museum: Amy McDowell, Manchester Museum

Year 10 work experience project: Natalie Liddle, Faculty Office Administration FBMH