Social Responsibility

Celebrating our community champions

Thu, 25 May 2017 16:59:00 BST

The 8th Annual University Volunteer of the Year Awards took place in the Whitworth Hall on 11 May, to celebrate the volunteering of staff, students and alumni. Over 200 delegates attended including guests of those nominated and representatives from many charities.

Volunteering took place locally, nationally and internationally including in Pakistan, Zimbabwe, Philippines, USA and Armenia. The volunteering was wide-ranging and included volunteering within health, with children and vulnerable adults, and community cohesion projects. The Awards were organised by the SDCE and were presented by Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell, President and Vice Chancellor.

The overall winners in each category also received the University Medal for Social Responsibility, part of the suite of established President's Distinguished Achievement Awards. First, second and third places also receive a donation to support the organisations where they volunteer.

Staff Winner

Dr Karen Rees Unwin, School of Medical Sciences

Karen is a trustee for Ridge Hill Big Local in Stalybridge. Karen established a Social Enterprise, working with the Big Local, to ensure additional funding could be sought and to provide local employment and to manage the new community facilities.

Alumni Winner

Hannah Paterson, MSc Clinical and Health Psychology 2010

Hannah is a trustee and Vice-Chair of the Nightline Association. Hannah has worked to secure the financial stability of the organisation and led work on the development of policies and a strategic framework that has allowed the organisation to provide direction and clarity to 36 university helplines with over 2,000 volunteers.

Student Winner

Lucia Banjo, School of Environment, Education & Development

Lucia set up the Big Change Society in order to engage students in the Big Change Campaign and ensure that students were aware of how they could contribute to the challenge of ending homelessness in a sustainable way.

Find out more on the Volunteer of Year website.

Contact us

Connect with us

  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • YouTube icon
  • Tumblr icon