Call for nominations – Royal Society Awards & Medals including science communication – closes 27 January 2020

by | Dec 19, 2019

Call for nominations: The Royal Society’s prestigious medals and awards are an opportunity to recognise outstanding contributions to science. The wide range of awards include subject-specific medals, as well as those celebrating the communication and promotion of science, including the new Royal Society David Attenborough Prize and Lecture. Nominations close on Monday 27 January 2020 at 3pm.

Interdisciplinary awards and those celebrating the communication of science

Gabor Medal
For acknowledged distinction of interdisciplinary work between the life sciences and other disciplines.

Kavli Medal and Lecture
For excellence in all fields of science and engineering relevant to the environment.

Kavli Education Medal and Lecture
For impact in the field of science and mathematics education.

Michael Faraday Prize and Lecture
For a scientist or engineer whose expertise in communicating scientific ideas in lay terms is exemplary.

Royal Society Africa Prize
To recognise outstanding research scientists based in Africa who are making an innovative contribution to the sciences which contributes significantly to capacity building in Africa.

Royal Society Athena Prize
Celebrates teams who have contributed most to the advancement of diversity in STEM within their communities.

Royal Society David Attenborough Prize and Lecture
Awarded to an individual for outstanding and sustained public engagement with science.

Royal Society Mullard Award
To individuals whose work has the potential to make a contribution to national prosperity.

Royal Society Rosalind Franklin Award and Lecture
To support the promotion of women in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

Wilkins-Bernal-Medawar Medal and Lecture
Given on a subject relating to the history of science, philosophy of science or the social function of science.

We welcome nominations from across the disciplines, and particularly encourage you to nominate women, under-represented minorities, and those undertaking research in industry.

Find out more: